Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ForgeTypeId how to use?

32 REPLIES 32
SOLVED
Message 1 of 33
c_hanschen
22010 Views, 32 Replies

ForgeTypeId how to use?

Hello,

I Have been using 'ConvertFromInternalUnits' for many years using DisplayUnitType, but in Revit 2021 is says:

Warning BC40000
'Public Shared Overloads Function ConvertFromInternalUnits(value As Double, displayUnit As DisplayUnitType) As Double' is obsolete:
'This method is deprecated in Revit 2021 and may be removed in a future version of Revit.
Please use the `ConvertFromInternalUnits(double, ForgeTypeId)` overload instead.'.

Can someone tell me how to use ForgeTypeId for Converting using ConvertFromInternalUnits?

Where do I find the Enumerations? or is it not working like that?

I also seems to need the same ForgeTypeId to get the UnitType of a parameter in Revit 2021 using p.definition.GetSpecTypeId

Is there any documentation about this (for me new) ForgeTypeId ?

Thanks,

Chris Hanschen

LKSVDD architecten

The Netherlands

32 REPLIES 32
Message 2 of 33
mhannonQ65N2
in reply to: c_hanschen

I'm also very interested in this new type. And while I haven't used it yet, I see in the API that there are 3 classes, SpecTypeId, SymbolTypeId, and UnitTypeId, that contain many ForgeTypeIds in static properties. This is probably where you'll find what you're looking for.

I've also done a bit of browsing in Revit 2021's data and found some .json files defining Forge schemas for what I guess are the specs, symbols, and units in those classes. What really intrigues me is the possibility of defining custom units (and symbols and specs).

Message 3 of 33
mhannonQ65N2
in reply to: mhannonQ65N2