.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Outline for webservice calls and AutoCAD automation?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
494 Views, 5 Replies

Outline for webservice calls and AutoCAD automation?

I am hoping people can give me an outline to design a REST web service that when called, generates a dwg file and returns the file. I am pretty new to AutoCAD and automation so don't know the AutoCAD capabilities and searches are not bearing fruit.  Can Autocad handle more than one request at a time or would I have to do them serially? Would it be better to do the automation in process or out of process? Do I need to create a new instance of autocad for each request or just create a new drawing? Better to create drawing in the model, or just create in the database components and skip the drawing since no one will be looking at it being generated?

The drawings won't be too complex. Control closet layout. Rectangular room with components on the walls represented by rectangles and some notations.

I'd be using C#.NET, .NET 4.7 framework if in process, .NET 5 if out of process. AutoCAD Mechanical 2020. Probably web API hosted in a windows service.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
ChicagoLooper
in reply to: Anonymous

REST service is not supported.

You can connect to ArcGIS online as a client using the free downloadable plug-in called ArcGIS for AutoCAD

Go to https://www.esri.com/en-us/arcgis/products/arcgis-for-autocad

You may also connect other services such as WMS, WFS and depending on your version, (2021 or newer) WMTS too.

Chicagolooper
Message 3 of 6
bob_basques

I actually do this type of retrieval from the web with LISP and run a local routine like WGET or CURL, either of these works by downloading the file locally and then you can do whatever you need to after that with the file for automation purposes.