.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Background mask Mtext VBA modifications are not applied.

1 REPLY 1
SOLVED
Message 1 of 2
damosp
184 Views, 1 Reply

Background mask Mtext VBA modifications are not applied.

I am a newbie in Excel VBA and looks like I am already in very deep waters.

Scope: Add data from Excel to ACAD as MText and modify their appearance with the use of Background Mask.

According to these reference https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/vba/mtext-background-mask-with-yellow-color/m-p/12253660#M107549 VBA code can only activate the BackgroundFill but does not set BackgroundFillColor and I believe BackgroundScaleFactor and UseBackgroundColor.

I created the below VBA code for the scope but I believe it fails due to the above information.

Public Sub MTextBackground()

Dim BackgroundScaleFactor As Double
Dim BackgroundFillColor As Autodesk.AutoCAD.Colors.color
Dim UseBackgroundColor As Boolean
Dim MTextValue As String
Dim MTextObjInsP(0 To 2) As Double

'Read MText String Value
    MTextValue = 100
    'Set MText insert position
	MTextObjInsP(0) = 5: MTextObjInsP(1) = 5:  MTextObjInsP(2) = 0

'Add MText and Customize
    Set MTextObj = ThisDrawing.ModelSpace.AddMText(MTextObjInsP, 10, MTextValue & "%")
		MTextObj.AttachmentPoint = acAttachmentPointMiddleCenter
		MTextObj.InsertionPoint = MTextObjInsP
		MTextObj.Height = 2
		'Set Mtext BackgroundFill, Color, ScaleFactor
		MTextObj.BackgroundFill = True
		MTextObj.BackgroundScaleFactor = 1.1
		MTextObj.BackgroundFillColor = Colors.FromColorIndex(ColorMethod.ByAci, 1)
    'Set Mtext string color
	Set ReturnMTextColor = MTextObj.TrueColor
    Call ReturnMTextColor.SetRGB(0, 0, 125)
    MTextObj.TrueColor = ReturnMTextColor
    MTextObj.Update
    ZoomExtents

End Sub

Based on the limited search I have already contacted, and correct me if I am wrong, I can write some code in Visual Studio 2022 (free community edition) that can export data from Excel to ACAD.