Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on moving to .net from VBA

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
S7RM7RPR
211 Views, 2 Replies

Advice on moving to .net from VBA

I've been told by a few different people of late that I "need" to stop using VBA and migrate to .net or C# but in attempting to research it, I'm not convinced it's a good move with how I'm set up right now (VBA support aside). I am very much a self-taught programmer and everything I've learned about VBA I've learned on the job over the last 15 years. I wouldn't say I'm a great programmer, but I've gotten pretty good at making AutoCAD do what I want.

I work in a company where I've built a significant amount of programs in AutoCAD for drafting automation. The way it works right now is that a we have a plugin set up on all user's computers that automatically snags the latest copy of the .dvb/vba code and loads it. The users can then initiate various AutoCAD programs using a custom menu or initiate programming using external programs. The majority of the programs simply load a design, insert the relevant blocks, update values in the blocks, and then output in some fashion. Fairly simple I think. However, there are a few programs that do a significant amount of design work as well using iterations and multiple dictionaries. For example, in the last few weeks I was working on running over 20,000 designs usually in lots of 100, reviewing the outputs, making modifications to the code, then running some more tests.

My understanding of .net/C# is that I need to do all the programming in VS and then load the compiled program into AutoCAD. That in itself would be frustrating to me because testing would take significantly longer and with most of the work I'm doing, VS wouldn't have any idea if the code I've written will even work because it all depends on what AutoCAD outputs, not the validity of the actual code itself.