Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change part sizes

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
900 Views, 10 Replies

How to change part sizes

I have read many posts here but can't seem to find the answer. I am a total newbie with Meshmixer a few days now.

I would like to alter a part in Meshmixer if possible see photo. I have already filled in the slots in the part. Any help is appreciated! I have attached the STL files if anybody wants to do this for me?

Thanks

3d part.png

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
MagWeb
in reply to: Anonymous

There are several ways and tools to do such modifications. Here's how I would do it...

To change the diameter of the cylinder:

In SELECT select the upper region of the cylinder:

Ohne Titel 5.png

Run SELECT/Edit/PlaneCut. Make sure to set CutType = Slice(KeepBoth)

Ohne Titel 6.png

Leave SELECT and run EDIT/SeparateShells

On the upper part run EDIT/Transform to modify the diameter. Disable UniformScaling in the tool properties (as you want to keep the height the same). Set the desired diameter to the number boxes SizeX and SizeZ.

Ohne Titel 7.png

Now go to SELECT. The previous PlaneCut action created a face group at the lower end. Select it by double click and run SELECT/Edit/Transform to extrude that plane to intersect the other part.

Ohne Titel 8.png

Now you might want to flatten the lower part. SELECT the uneven region plus the stump of the former cylinder

Ohne Titel 9.png

Run SELECT/Edit/EraseAndFill with a flat FillMode

Ohne Titel 10.png

Now activate both objects and run EDIT/BooleanUnion

Ohne Titel 11.png

To thicken the other region:

Run EDIT/GenerateFaceGroups. Defaults generate two groups at the inside of the top ( horizontal and bevel). Later on we will move these groups to make the top thicker.