Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to correctly put armor on a character?

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
Anonymous
1933 Views, 16 Replies

How to correctly put armor on a character?

Hi , so i am new with Maya . I import a rigged character from unreal , i import a piece of armor(say pants), which is fbx. I scale it to character. I select the skeleton and the armor mesh, then do " bind skin" . then i select the armor mesh and the character's skin, and do "copy skin weights". Export back to unreal and it seems the armor is moving around like gel. Some parts of it are in place and moving correctly,  but some parts not. Like only parts of the armor are skin weighted , but other parts not. Am i missing something? I've done this with armor pieces imported that are already attached to a skeleton and it works.(but in that case i dont have to bind skin, just copy skin weights). But these current armor pieces are not attached to any skeleton when i bring them in. Therefore why i select the skeleton and mesh and "bind skin" , before copy skin weights. Is there some steps i am missing somewhere? Thanks for any help

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I seem to notice that if the armor mesh is one piece , then it works much better, but if i have an armor prt that is made of multiple pieces , then it is the problem above . I am selecting the multiple pieces and "combining them " , but it still causes issues.

Message 3 of 17
mcw0

Your initial post says you do the skinning/copying of weights and then you export.  So my first question...does it work in Maya?  Basically, is the problem with your process or with the export.