Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this mb file data/structure fine? Multi-mesh, cannot find the node to set hotkeys on. [animating beginner, maya20, w10]

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
562 Views, 4 Replies

Is this mb file data/structure fine? Multi-mesh, cannot find the node to set hotkeys on. [animating beginner, maya20, w10]

I am still a beginner in animating, I come from blender, and I am a great beginner in Maya : I did animate the rocket as in the official youtube tutorial.

I am trying to animate a character, I got this 30MB lambert.mb file  extracted, after some reverse-engineering, from the Witcher3 game.

Is the rig broken? Is the model's node structure "canon"?

If broken (IK seems to be), can it still be animated? Guess so!

I have a very hard time finding the node to set key frames on and getting interpolation. I tried putting all meshes in a character set, I tried parenting all meshes to the body one. I don't get why there are that many animation layers, I don't get at all why the hypergraph is so scattered.

Any help understanding the model structure, and the intended workflow would be much appreciated.

Best regards, Maxime

Labels (4)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
jmreinhart
in reply to: Anonymous

The file link appears to be broken.

In my experience, when a rig is taken out of a game, all you get is the skeleton and the model, the underlying rig system like ik/fk that the animators interact with don't exist in the game engine. 

Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: jmreinhart

The file is this one https://mega.nz/folder/KMBHBQzZ#aLQCsUk0OZ50QSCJzWeuIw/file/nExFCJpB

It has been made by this author : https://github.com/dingdio/witcher3-maya-animation