Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Who's using C#

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Qube-it
321 Views, 9 Replies

Who's using C#

I'm a regular Inventor user (and quasi CAD Manager), but I'm new to the land of programming and I'm taking courses at my local community college to go in that direction. I've just completed an intro to programming class (using C++ as the language) which really only gave me the ability to ask intelligent questions. I'm chomping at the bit to start developing some stuff for Inventor (lots of ideas rolling around up there), and I've got a choice ahead of me... Do I take the VB.NET class first or the C# class first.

I will eventually take both, but I also know that I will develop other applications in the future outside of Inventor (for my company) which is why I want to become proficient with C#.

I would like to hear from people who are using (or knowledgeable with) both and get there feedback on what they like and don't like about each one when developing add-ins for Inventor(if possible).

TIA

--
Brian Hall
-Brian Hall-
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: Qube-it

For Inventor add-ins (and many other programming tasks), either VB.NET or C#
will be equally capable. It really comes down to your preferance. If you are
familiar with VBA, VB.NET would probably be easier to pick up. As your
collection of add-ins grows, you can easily incorporate components (dll's)
created in either language.

wrote in message news:5913267@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm a regular Inventor user (and quasi CAD Manager), but I'm new to the land
of programming and I'm taking courses at my local community college to go in