Inventor Nastran Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’sInventor Nastran Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor Nastran topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transient heat transfer simulation help: Mug of water (beginner)

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
anindo
434 Views, 8 Replies

Transient heat transfer simulation help: Mug of water (beginner)

Hi, 
I am new to Autodesk Nastran and wanted to learn the ropes by setting up a transient thermal heat transfer.
Problem statement: Hot water at 80 C in a room-temperature stainless steel mug. Ambient temperature is 25 C. I would like to plot the pattern in which the mug and its handle will heat up over time, and then how it will cool. 

Version of Inventor and Nastran: 2025.1

Evidently, I must have done quite a few things wrong, as this plot at 3600 seconds shows: The bottom of the mug is at nearly 80 degrees after an hour, and the rim remains cool.

anindo_0-1725957702155.png

To begin with: 

1. Modeled a mug with a body of water in it, separate solid bodies in contact. Assigned materials SS and water. Brought into Nastran environment.
  2. Auto contacts did not work (pack & go attached for reference), it seemed to work, but on running the sim, it failed with errors that contact was not found at each of the 3 contact faces.
  3. Added instead a Solver contact with 0.25mm [EDIT: Changed to 3mm now] active distance and 0mm penetration. No further warnings on that front.
  4. Added a Temperature load of 353 degrees (~80 C) to "body<1>@water" with the intent of initial temperature of water at the start of the simulation. Perhaps this is not the correct method.
  5. Added convection loads on side faces, rim and handle of the mug but not the bottom, using a mid-range looked up value for stainless steel free air convection, of 0.025 mW/mm^2 K.anindo_4-1725959094165.png