Inventor Nastran Forum
Welcome to Autodeskā€™sInventor Nastran Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor Nastran topics.
cancel
Showing results forĀ 
ShowĀ Ā onlyĀ  | Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 

Nonlinear axial compression of a tube - fatal Error E5076: Maximum number of bisections reached

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
daniel.poole
334 Views, 7 Replies

Nonlinear axial compression of a tube - fatal Error E5076: Maximum number of bisections reached

Please help

I'm relatively new to Nastran so I apologise if there is a simple solution to this.

I have a thin walled tube (75mm OD x 2mm thick  x 150mm long) and I want to apply a load to the end. (nonlinear buckling)

I have set up a custom nonlinear material (though have also done a sanity check with a standard nonlinear one) and no matter how I set up the analysis I always get a failed solution.

The obvious way to set it up would be to fix the bottom and a apply a load to the top.

I have tried variuis constraints: fix the bottom edge, fix the bottom in all directions accept along its surface plane. split the tube along its length and put a symmetry constraint there.

I have also tried adjusting the mesh, changing the steps, basically anything I could but I always get the same error.

I must be doing something wrong as I cannot think of a simpler analysis.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
John_Holtz
in reply to: daniel.poole

Hi @daniel.poole 

It is too hard to guess what might be wrong from a written description. Please attach the model to the forum post. (It also depends on when the E5076 error occurs. If it is at the beginning of the analysis, the model may not have enough stability. If it is near the end of the analysis, maybe the part is buckling!)

John

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius šŸ˜‰