cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reload model in assembly

Reload model in assembly

I have an assembly. I have sub-assemblies in the assembly.
If I change something in one of the sub-assemblies and don't save it (because it was only an attempt) and then close the sub-assembly without saving, these changes are visible in the assembly.
So I first have to close everything and reopen the assembly so that my "attempts" are no longer displayed in one of the subassemblies.
I also don't want to go to the trouble of undoing all the changes from my "experiment" and then closing it without saving. Then it would look in the assembly as if I had not made an "attempt".

I know the "Reload" function from another programme. This can be executed by right-clicking on the corresponding part or assembly in the model tree. The part or assembly is then reloaded from the memory. Just as if you were opening it again. But not the entire assembly but only the object in question.

I hope I was able to describe this in an understandable way...

4 Comments
SReitberger
Enthusiast

This is a good idea in my opinion. Only to be a little more precice: "The part or assembly is then reloaded from the memory." -> "disc" or "hard drive" would hit the point. The data in memory I would think about RAM.  

gregory_nickol
Advocate

This would save me a lot of time closing and reopening large assemblies just because I was messing with something in a subassembly. 

chris_brownQ5DMQ
Contributor

Yes, when I "Refresh", "Get Revision", "revert to Latest" I expect at least one of those things to revert to an unmodified state. 

 

Closing every single parent assembly just because I want to temporarily modify a part/assembly further down the tree is an unnecessary workflow. 

 

Users make frequent experimental changes to parts and assemblies with no intention of committing to those changes so there needs to be an efficient way to revert changes back without having to shut everything down.  It doesn't make sense.

WCrihfield
Mentor

This is an absolute 'must have' functionality in Inventor, yet Inventor still does not have this ability after all these decades of development in one of the largest design software companies in the world.

I work with both both Inventor and Vault all day, every day.  One of the most common things to do is open an assembly in Inventor, and when we do, there is very often an immediate pop-up prompt from Inventor asking us if I want to update that assembly.  If we click OK, or press Enter, then Inventor proceeds to make changes to some of the components...in memory.  There is no mention in this prompt about which specific components want/need to be updated.  There is also no way of knowing what kinds of changes are being made, or to which components the changes are being made.  Another downright insidious detail here is that...even if everything was fully 'Released' in Vault, which we expect to mean 'nothing should change', it is making changes to those components anyways.  Then, if we do end up checking the assembly out, to make any sort of change, then attempt to save that assembly, we get the familiar pop-up prompt message, listing documents that have been changed, and they are all set to be 'saved' by default, even if we did not change them directly.  And if you pay close attention, some of them will say that it will actually change the 'ReadOnly' status of those components that are not checked-out, just so that it can write that 'somehow changed' data back to the File that we specifically do not want to be changed...(default behavior of Inventor).  Once that 'update' prompt has been agreed to, the only way to 'undo' those updates is often to completely close Inventor, then restart it, to wipe those 'in-memory document changes' out of Inventor's session memory.  Because if I do not completely close Inventor, and try to open the same assembly again, the same 'in-memory' changes are often still there.  This is horrible functionality that desperately needs to be changed.  There should definitely be per document UNDO functionality.  And there should definitely be per document 'Reload From File' functionality.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea