Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling with constraints

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
KevinMacDonald
1468 Views, 10 Replies

Struggling with constraints

I am relatively new to Inventor. However I have managed to get pretty far with a complex assembly. I am finding my greatest frustration is with constraints. I have a complex part that is constrained to another part but is free to rotate about an axis. I am trying to constrain an assembly to that part. The assembly is a part that is used throughout the overall assembly, like a bolt for example. I find that when I seemingly constrain a sub assembly to the part that can rotate, the constraints between the rotating part seem to come "unglued", which causes me to start all over again. How is it that constraints suddenly become inactive? They are clearly there in the browser, but the part they are supposed to be constraining is suddenly floating free? 

Can someone direct me towards a tutorial that will impart a DEEP understading of constraints, rather than one about the basics? Clearly, knowing the basics is insufficient. 

Inventor 2013
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: KevinMacDonald

Attach the assembly here that exhibits this behavior.

or at least a screen shot of the browser.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 11
KevinMacDonald
in reply to: JDMather

I no longer have my project in a state where constraints are apparently messed up. However, perhaps you can comment on my methods of doing things. I would not be surprised if I am not following best practice.