Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spreader Bar Design - Stress Analysis

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
Anonymous
2617 Views, 12 Replies

Spreader Bar Design - Stress Analysis

HI.. everyone.

I am new to Inventor and I am learning it slowly.

Recently I modeled a spreader bar. (Pic attached)

After modeling the parts, I assembled the spreader bar as per my AutoCAD dimensions.

I would like to do a stress analysis and find out how much the spreader bar can lift and its safety factor.

I provided bearing load on both bottom pad eyes equal to half the total weight to be lifted.

I am struggling how to constrain the model to do the analysis.

Kindly help me regarding this.

Screenshot_1.pngScreenshot_2.pngScreenshot_3.png

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: Anonymous

Attach your assembly here.

Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

Attaching my assembly..

Thanks for the reply.

Message 4 of 13
TheCADWhisperer

The angle for your lift cables, ropes or chains is important.

Triangle.png

Message 5 of 13
Anonymous
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

The angle is 60 deg.

But do we need to model the slings? Or is this angle for providing top lug force direction?

Message 6 of 13
jmenier

Stress analysis is one thing, but if you are in the US there is a mandating code that you need to design spreader bars to. The code is by ASME and called BTH-1-2014 Below The Hook lifting devices. There are some rigorous calculations involved and if you are not an engineer, I would find one to do the design. Let me know if you have questions regarding this, as I do design these types of things regularly. Also if you look hard enough online you can find older codes that have the same method of calculation in them, the last version was 2011.

Construction Engineer, PE