Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Loose" Loft

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
583 Views, 9 Replies

"Loose" Loft

Hello everybody,

I'm new to Inventor (used to Rhino 3D) and was wondering whether there is some kind of function like the loose loft in Rhino?

When lofting over several section curves in Rhino, the loft command allows the user to handle how every section is treated. If a "loose" loft is created, the section curves are not met 100% by the created loft. They have some kind of influence however (like they are "pulling" with a certain weight at the surface). Is there some kind of function in Inventor as well?

Cheers

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
CCarreiras
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi!!

Yes.

You can add new sketch rails to influence the loft between profiles.

you can add tangency with "variable force" at the start and end of the loft in loft conditions tab

You can tweak how the profiles connect beteewn in the loft transitions tab

CCarreiras

EESignature

Message 3 of 10
PaulMunford

There is no option to control the inner curvature of a loft in inventor (i.e. at the lofted profiles).

You might be better off reducing the number of profiles and controlling the curvature with a center line loft?

Autodesk Marketing Manager D&M
Opinions are my own and may not reflect those of my company.
Linkedin Twitter Instagram Facebook Pinterest

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: PaulMunford

@PaulMunford Controlling the shape by a centerline unfortunately is not really an option for my project. It really seems that Rhino has done something here that no other software is capable of doing...

Message 5 of 10
PaulMunford

Well - if you want approximations, maybe!

Inventor is designed to give highly precise outputs - which demand highly precise inputs.