Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Parasolid to Inventor

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
jrapert
850 Views, 10 Replies

Parasolid to Inventor

I was just wondering if IV will be able (sometime in the future) to import direct parasolid files like similar level packages (SW or CADKEY). IGES, STEP or SAT are fine but nearly always creates translation problems (untrimmed surfaces, faces missing etc). Other designers using software's with direct parasolid converters have much less translation problems. As a die designer I'm getting imported solid/surface models sometimes in parasolid format. I wish I could import straight into IV without running around and get converted into IGES or STEP. I guess there're more tool/die designers out there with similar wish.
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: jrapert

It would be convenient. You can pretty well bank on it not being as robust as STEP imports, though, unless the problem is with the source system not being able to write out a good STEP (occasionally happens). Try StepTools.com if you don't have a way to import Parasolid. Believe they have a free Parasolid <> STEP on-line service. Wonder if ACIS has an interop module available? Oops, forget that. 8~)
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous