Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for suggestions on joining parts

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Ed.Jobe
290 Views, 4 Replies

Looking for suggestions on joining parts

Hi, I hope this isn't too much of a burden on anyone. I'm just getting started with Inventor and I'm having trouble mating parts to the pole in this assembly.poletop1.pngI want the crossarm and bracket to mate to the surface of the pole, which is tapered. I know how to set up an iMate, but I don't think it will work on the pole because many parts could be placed in different positions. This is a very simple configuration. Typically, there will be more parts added. I was wondering if you have any suggestions for setting up a system that works. I'm just getting started and want get off on the right track. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ed

Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.
How to post your code.

EESignature

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
cbenner
in reply to: Ed.Jobe

@Ed.Jobe

More information about your design intent would help a lot, but just from your picture...

It looks like you want the cross bar at a certain distance from the axis of the pole, and from the top of the pole.  Since the pole is tapered, you could use work (or origin) features to accomplish this.  Example, the origin axis of the pole to an origin or work plane on the cross bar.  The dimension of these constraints could then be controlled as a parameter, or in an iAssembly,... or even with ilogic.  (I wouldn't go there until you have the basics down though).  Look at (if you haven't already) some tutorials on basic assembly techniques and practice with an assembly that you can trash if necessary.

Message 3 of 5
mcgyvr