Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loft cannot create uniform surface

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
417 Views, 5 Replies

Loft cannot create uniform surface

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to inventor so please excuse my question. I want to make a part that has a rounded surface on top and a flat surface on bottom. I don't want to use round fillet because it only makes round edges and not round surface. So I went for the loft feature. I created a point, the distance of which is equal to the thickness I want the object to have. I selected the tangent to point condition and clicked ok. The result is almost what I want, except for the surface is not equal rounded. As you can see in the picture there are some tine edges created!! I also attach the part file for your reference. How can I create an equal rounded surface?

Untitled-2.jpgUntitled-1.jpg

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mpatchus
in reply to: Anonymous

Welcome to the Forum.

Keep in mind that there is ALWAYS more than one way to model a part.

If you aren't getting the desired results one way, try modeling the part using a different approach.

One thing that I always told my students was to think about how the part will be made.

Is it machined from a piece of stock?  If so, there is nothing wrong with starting with a piece of stock and removing material the same way a machinist would.

Example file attached (using my own dimensions since I cannot open your 2017 part).

christo83.JPG

Mike Patchus - Lancaster SC

Inventor 2025 Beta

Alienware m17, Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10980HK CPU @ 2.40GHz 3.10 GHz, Win 11, 64gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. 🙂
Message 3 of 6
JDMather