Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I find the center of pressure of a model rocket?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
4156 Views, 5 Replies

How can I find the center of pressure of a model rocket?

I made a custom model rocket a few days ago and I posted some pics online.  A lot of the rocketry community gave me crap that my fins are too small, and my nose cone was not the right shape.  

I made a CAD of the rocket in inventor and I would like to run a simulation so I can see what it will look like when the air is flowing over my rocket.  Hopefully this test will show me that everything will be OK and I am good for lauch... But I have no idea where to start.  I am a noob and I have never done a dynamic simulation of any sort.

Thank you!

Here's a STEP file of the rocket if it helps people, as of now I don't have the density of the parts set because I am still trying to figure out how to add custom densities.  I know that there are somethings about the rocket that don't seem right, like the nose cone that doesn't go over the sides of the tube - but that was a machining error on the actual rocket and I wanted to make the CAD as similar as possible.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I downloaded Autodesk CFD Simulator 360 2013 (or something like that) which seems to be the product I am looking for, but I have no idea of how to use it.  Could someone please explain how I can get the little lines of air to flow over my model like they show in all of the demo photos of the product?

Thank you

Message 3 of 6
luiww