Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Failed 3D Sweep

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
t.bennett
794 Views, 14 Replies

Failed 3D Sweep

I am trying to generate a cam plate, the idea for manufacturing this would be to place it on a rotary head on a mill and move the endmill to centerline and rotate the part while moving the endmill away from it when needed to generate the profile.  I can not seem to replicate this in Inventor and my sweep is producing very odd (or no) results.  What am I missing here?

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
ampster40
in reply to: t.bennett

I'm still studying this part, but am curious if you attempted to create that 3D sketch for the path outside of any existing solids?  Looks like the path sinks down into the solid and without testing it I suspect this may be what the problem is.  The path itself may not actually sink into the solid, but the sweep that will be made using that 3d sketch will cause the swept body to sink down into the existing solid. 

Message 3 of 15
WHolzwarth

This will do. Basic problem seems to be the tangential run of the 3D path versus the planar surface of the cylinder. It's always better to have both sides thickness left.

Walter

Walter Holzwarth

EESignature

Message 4 of 15
t.bennett
in reply to: ampster40

The 3D sketch is Sketch3 wrapped to the face of the solid.  I've gotten this to work on another part but that has different issues that I'll look into once I know what is causing this one to fail.

Is there another way to generate a profile like this that wraps around?  The one in the picture is close to what I want but does not match the manufacturing process as the flats are the same width at the OD and ID.

Message 5 of 15
JDMather

@t.bennett wrote:

...but does not match the manufacturing process....