Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contact modeling theory

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
961 Views, 6 Replies

Contact modeling theory

Hi everyone!

I am quite new to Inventor and would like to ask something about how are contacts modeled.

I know that Inventor only performs linear analysis and was wondiring how certain contacts, such the separation-no sliding or the sliding-no separation contacts are modeled. With this type of contacts, in fact, the contacting area between the parts will change and geomertical non-linearitires will appear; in "conventional" FEM the load vector and possibly the stiffness matrix should be updated requiring a non-linear model for the solution.

Are linear springs set between contacting nodes used in Inventor instead? Or what is the trick?

I did not find a lot of theory on the Inventor guides I have consulted so far and was thinking maybe asking here would help.

Regards,

Jacopo

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
raviburla
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

Thanks for the query. As you have noticed, Inventor Stress Analysis supports separation contacts and their variants. These types of contacts naturally lead to a non-linear problem. However, do note that the material modeling is still linear and small deformations are still assumed.

For the contacts modeling, the mesher/solver computes the contact entities automatically (note that this is not same as detect auto contacts). The contact entities form a set of triangles from one face and a set of triangles from a second face. Relations are developed between the contacting triangle-nodes based on the specific contact type. The formulation Augumented Lagrangian with inequality constraints. The system of equations (non-linear) are solved iteratively until equilibrium conditions are satisfied.  

Thanks,