Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing sheet metal thickness cause losing all the features

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
isaac.folk
1339 Views, 6 Replies

Changing sheet metal thickness cause losing all the features

This is my first time using this forum.  I really thank you in advance to whoever willing to assist.  I am almost done with the design and want to change the sheet metal thickness.  Somehow Inventor is not able to find edges again in flange feature again after changing thickness.  When I try to fix the flange feature, edges are highlight, but it is not able to generate the feature.  Maybe my file is corrupted, or software issue on my computer?  Is anyone able to modify the thickness of my file attached and not losing all the feature?  Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
karthur1
in reply to: isaac.folk

In your extrusion 1, change this extrusion thickness to "Thickness".

2020-03-03_1533.png

Now in your "Sheet Metal Styles" dialog, change your thickness here to whatever you want it to be.

2020-03-03_1535.png

Your part should update just fine.

Thanks

Message 3 of 7
andrewdroth

If you change the "Extrusion 1" distance to use the 'Thickness' parameter it will work better.

But you should have really started with a 'face' command instead of an 'extrusion'.

There's some other things that could be done differently, but let me know if that fixes your problem.

EDIT: Like he said^^^

Andrew Roth
rothmech.com

YouTube IconLinkedIn Icon

Message 4 of 7
johnsonshiue

Hi Issac,