Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calculate Moment of Inertia?

20 REPLIES 20
SOLVED
Message 1 of 21
Anonymous
36936 Views, 20 Replies

Calculate Moment of Inertia?

I need to calculate the change in moment of intertia due to modifing a simple angled beam from 120 x 120 x 10 to 120 x 112 x 10.  Inventor has a function for moments but it rotates the center plane to something like VxV in the link below.  Is there a way to calculate this to X-X?  The instructions on this function are not very clear to me.  I'm also no expert with Inventor.  Thanks

http://www.roymech.co.uk/Useful_Tables/Sections/Angles_dim_prop.htm

20 REPLIES 20
Message 2 of 21
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

do it in sketch mode, click tools, measure, region properties then calculate...

I only touched on this yesterday and would be interested if there was a better way, say properties of a boundry patch or similar

Message 3 of 21
JDMather

Something like this?  (see attached)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 21
Anonymous

That worked but I had to move teh origin to the centroid.  Thanks!

Message 5 of 21
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

Where is that calculator from?

Message 6 of 21
Anonymous

The same problem here:

I have to calculate profile's Moment of inertia and resistance in X and Y directions, with given parameters like this:

Inventor Region properties gives such results:

profile.JPG

Area is correct, but the rest isn't (comparing to the table).

I think the problem is with the centroid - the X and Y zero points are slightly shifted in the original calculations.