Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3D Sketch to solid

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
karl.zammit.18
677 Views, 7 Replies

3D Sketch to solid

Could anyone please explain how to Extrude/Emboss the 3D sketch onto the curved surface?

Screenshot 2021-04-22 185034.jpgScreenshot 2021-04-22 185247.jpg

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
blandb
in reply to: karl.zammit.18

Can you attach your part?

Autodesk Certified Professional
Message 3 of 8
karl.zammit.18
in reply to: blandb

Here you go

Message 4 of 8
blandb
in reply to: karl.zammit.18

Is this what you are trying to do??

ROOF.jpg

Message 5 of 8
karl.zammit.18

Thank you so much. I have never used the Split function before

Message 6 of 8
johnsonshiue

Hi! Karl,

On top of what Brad already mentioned, you may want to consider using Ruled Surface. It can help you protrude edges as a surface in any direction. Then you can stitch or sculpt the surfaces into a solid.

Many thanks!

Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Software Test Engineer
Message 7 of 8
blandb
in reply to: johnsonshiue

@johnsonshiue 

Are you referring to running the ruled surface after the split on the split edges? If so, I thought that is essentially what the thicken command was doing. Keeping all edges normal to the surface? The only thing I did have to do different was uncheck automatic blending, or else the thicken failed. So I guess to keep that from happening the ruled surface and sculpt would be the way to go?

Message 8 of 8
johnsonshiue

Hi Brad,