Community
InfraWorks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s InfraWorks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular InfraWorks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overlays and Importing 2d lines

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Goran_Kingkong
577 Views, 5 Replies

Overlays and Importing 2d lines

Hello.

I want to import 2d lines and drape them onto the model and preferably also visible on top of roads drafted in infraworks. Is that possible?

Say i got a 2d masterplan (dwg) with roads and administrative boundaries and other details, id like to overlay this on my model. I managed to import it to infraworks as a raster, the problem is it doesent overlay my drafted roads in infraworks. So id think lines in vector format would be more suitable if i can get them to display on top of my drafted roads? Or is there a way to put an overlay on top of the drafted roads?

Is there a way of drawing basic lines that drape on top of model?

I dont know the terminology and meaning of easement, parcel and coverage. I found out infraworks treats them as polygons, but is there a difference in how they behave? 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Export the linework from Civil 3D as a shapefile.

Todd Rogers
Message 3 of 6

My issue is not exporting from civil.

My question is how to make imported 2d-lines display on top of model in infraworks.. 

Best i got so far is importing lines as barriers and make a custom barrier that appears as a solid line. 

Skärmklipp.PNG

Message 4 of 6

Instead of using barriers, try importing as a coverage area. This will drape the linework over the surface like you want. However, this process does need a "trick" applied to get it to work. When configuring the coverage area, set the Buffer Width to a positive value like 0.10. This will allow the lines to appear, and you can adjust colors/widths from there. 

Message 5 of 6