Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Huge lag in Fusion 360

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
YourDirector
1695 Views, 10 Replies

Huge lag in Fusion 360

I've been using Fusion 360 for a few years and love it.

Up until June last year I was running it on my computer (With an i7 8700, GTX 1060 6Gb, and 32GB RAM, running Win10) and it generally dealt with everything great.

Then in June I built a new computer featuring:

• i7 12,700k
  • RTX 3080 12GB
  • 64GB RAM
  • and with my C drive, additional installs drive, and my primary documents drive all being M.2 SSDs
  • Window 11

With this new computer it deals with high intensity things really well (editing 8k footage, playing games on full end specs etc).

However, in Fusion 360, I get some seriously horrible lag.

My mouse cursor responds quickly and as it should, but everything else it should be interacting with lags behind horribly, even on relatively simple designs. Here's a short screen recording of it, but it gets a lot worse than this. When doing so my CPU, GPU, and RAM usage each never exceeds 30% and averages more around 15-20%. (And my drive usage is so low it's generally between 0 and 2%).

I've done all maintenance I can think of on my computer (all drivers and software are up to date, all peripheral firmware is up to date, hell, I even updated my BIOS). As a result, I'm starting to think it's to do with Fusion 360, but I'm confused as on my older far less powerful system I never had this issue with the same projects.

Does anyone have any idea of a fix for this, or is there some hidden setting I've missed for optimising the software for my hardware?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11