Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I create a "hole" in a body that was imported from a .stp file?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
826 Views, 5 Replies

How can I create a "hole" in a body that was imported from a .stp file?

I have an .stp file that was part of a design I purchased. I want to remove chunks of the model to reduce the amount of resin that will be required to print it. I am new to F360 and haven't played with CAD much since the initial versions of TurboCAD, back before trees were invented.

The model has some flat surfaces and a large curved surface for holding a CO2 laser tube. I want to, essentially, punch holes through the surfaces to reduce the mass.

I have designed some basic objects with F360, from scratch, and I could figure this out, I think, if there were associated sketches in the file, but I don't know how to manipulate the body. Do I create a sketch and then extrude it through the body, to create a hole?

Once I re-design the piece, I'll need to get it into an .stl to print it.

Thanks.

Tags (1)
Labels (1)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
vandyckaj
in reply to: Anonymous

If you could attach a file of what you are looking at that would be a tremendous help. 

If you imported it correctly... See link below for information on that. 

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/fusion-360/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/How-t... 

As long as you have. BRep solid, you should be able to make a sketch on any plane of the solid and then use the extrude tool to punch through it remembering to select "cut" in the extrude menu. 

Hope that helps, if you have further questions please provide the file if possible. 

If this solved your issue, kindly accept as the solution! 🙂