Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TURNING - Finish OD and face

20 REPLIES 20
SOLVED
Message 1 of 21
Ryan_Fab
1268 Views, 20 Replies

TURNING - Finish OD and face

Good Morning,

I'm new to the turning environment and I've ran into an issue.

I would like to finish externally and then run down over a small portion of the front vertical face with the same command. Is this possible? 

My file is attached. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers 

Tags (2)
Labels (2)
20 REPLIES 20
Message 2 of 21

@Ryan_Fab I don't believe this can be achieved using the body but you can do this by driving the toolpath through a created contour. The contour is created in the Design workspace and selected in the operation settings.
A small horizontal line is needed for the lead out after the desired X point is achieved.

christophercooperVHK2N_0-1624273146651.png

Christopher Cooper
Technical Consultant
Message 3 of 21
engineguy
in reply to: Ryan_Fab

@Ryan_Fab 

If this is anything like what you need then try the attached file

Profile finish-MOD.jpg

Message 4 of 21
Ryan_Fab

Both are great, thanks guys. Im using the sketch one in this instance as it allows me travel back to front.

I appreciate the help

Message 5 of 21
Anonymous

Here is your back to front pass using model 😁

2021-06-21 05_26_55-Window.png

Message 6 of 21
Ryan_Fab

Brilliant!.... but what did you change!? Im still missing something because I cant replicate it 😫

Message 7 of 21
Anonymous

If you unselect radial extension in linking tab, tool makes facing move.

2021-06-21 09_27_30-Window.png

Message 8 of 21
Ryan_Fab
in reply to: Anonymous

Brilliant, makes sense and yet the only thing I hadn’t tried 🤣
Message 9 of 21