Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cutting specific shape into piece

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
204 Views, 4 Replies

Cutting specific shape into piece

Hi All,

Sorry to bug you, just hoping someone could help please? I am very new to fusion 360- I have a cnc and I am currently paying someone else to create things for me however I would like to learn.

I have created a 200mm by 200mm by 40mm piece and want to cut out a specific shape however do not know how. I am milling foam and want to put products inside the foam. Would anyone be able to tell me how to cutout specific shapes into the 200x200x40 block- such as a shaving blade and handle?

I appreciate any help you are able to provide- thank you in advance. 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous 

OK, here is small simple example of how to get your shape into your 200 x 200 x 40 block.

Go to the Design area and create a block using the "Box" option under the "Create" tab, next using the "Sketch" option draw half of a cylindrical shape you want and then use the "Revolve"  option under the "Create" tab to make the shape round, next use the "Move/Copy" facility to place the new shape where you want it located in your Block, place it so that it is half in/half out as in the first image below, next you use the "Combine" function to subtract/cut the shape from the block as in the second image.

So basically all you need to do is learn the CAD to make your shapes, how/where to place them in your block and how to use the "Combine" function to cut the shape into your Block. Hope this helps you a little, it is not as hard as you may think it is !!