Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I ramp along a surface in roughing pass?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
554 Views, 8 Replies

Can I ramp along a surface in roughing pass?

Hello! I'm new to Fusion360, but have hobbyist experience with CNC and I'm a pro at other 3d animation software.

I will ask my question first and then give context after that. Hope someone can help.

QUESTION: Is it possible to ramp along a surface to essentially get a finishing pass in the first operation?

Img_ToolPaths.jpg

BACKGROUND:

I'm needing to carve a 1.3cm geometric design into each side of a 3cm cube (A). I want to make several of these so I want the process to be as optimized as possible. I don't want to switch out tools for multiple passes for ever single side.

AA

I've been successful in doing this with flat gcode generated from Inventable's Easel program (B). The blue wax and wood pieces above were created that way.

BB

The issue is with the overlap of the corners, it cuts into the design on the adjoining side (C)(Click to enlarge the image).

Img_cross_carve.jpg

So, I've decided that if I could get the gcode to ramp into (or out of) the material to make a bevel at the edge, I would eliminate the flat overcuts. I've created an .stl model that does just this (D) in a 3d animation program. My designs (2d and 3d) are larger than my stock so it passes fully outside of the material.

DD

I knew I was going to have to up my software game to do this, so I started to jump into F360. This is as close as I've gotten in trying to do this with one tool/pass (E). It's a lot of stair-stepping and jumps back and forth quite a bit. 

Img_F360_paths.jpg