Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Workflow Sketch/Design ---> CAM + Assembly

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
tommVS2MB
363 Views, 7 Replies

Workflow Sketch/Design ---> CAM + Assembly

I am studying Fusion 360 CAM and I have a project to help me learn that. I have challenged myself to design a box with 4 sides, bottom mitered and removable top; The corners will be mitered; Real simple.  I have learned enough F30 to be able to make each part.  But, CAM will be new.

After modelling I will have the parts. I will need to lay them on a plane for CAM. That way with a series of operations and without moving the stock I can cut them; and just change tools.

1) Should I start with sketching my sides, top and bottom on the plane arranged for CAM?

2) I don't know what part of F360 I can use to maintain the CAM arrangement of the bodies and create an assembled representation of them. Is there a way to reference the bodies in my design and arrange them as an assembled object?

Please, point me in the right direction and I will follow-through with studying more of the tutorials.

Ultimately I plan to design some wooden objects and then cut them on a CAM router.

Thank you, Tom Meyers

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

I'm not done CAM things so fare and I'm not sure if I understood your question, but perhaps this might be something you're interested in: 

Message 3 of 8

Yes, that helps a lot and fits in well with the workflow that I think will be efficient.

workflow:

1) for each part:

1.1 Create component  (could be top, side ...); sketch to body to component; 

2) Create a component ( the 3d model ) and copy bodies to component (eg. front x1, back x1, side twice (L+R) 

3) Mark all Joints I will be using