Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results forĀ 
ShowĀ Ā onlyĀ  | Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 

Updating derive feature removes components

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
cgbongo
252 Views, 6 Replies

Updating derive feature removes components

I've been using Fusion for almost 2 years to design products for my current company. Most of the products use a frame system made out of steel RHS sections, and to efficiently manufacture the parts we use a CNC (plasma) barcutter. Since theres a lot of extra clutter in the main designs, I've been using the Insert Derive feature in a new blank design to insert the created barwork under their parent components so that the parent components can be exported as .step files and read by the CNC (plasma) barcutter. In this derived design, I usually add fillets to the inside and outside corners of the RHS sections, which supposedly speeds up load times on the plasma CNC computer, however for large designs this can take a lot of time and is something I would rather avoid re-doing over and over.