Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sheet Metal Normal Cut on "Sweep"

17 REPLIES 17
SOLVED
Message 1 of 18
BradWilbert
1008 Views, 17 Replies

Sheet Metal Normal Cut on "Sweep"

I am new to F360 and learning to draw parts in Sheet Metal.  I have been drawing in 2D Auto Cad for 20 years and thought that it was time to increase my skill set.  The Attached file is a common kitchen hood that I would traditionally draw in Auto Cad with a lot of math to determine the "Sweep" flat pattern.  I have drawn the part in F360 but I am unable to make a "normal cut" on the sheet metal along the sweep.  I have tried to project the sweep onto another plane and cut the overlapping parts off, but when the part is unfolded the cut is not normal for laser cutting.  The material is 16 GA stainless and the K factor is for my specific press brake and tooling.  I would appreciate suggestions on how to properly complete this drawing.  Thank you.    

Labels (1)
17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
kgilham
in reply to: BradWilbert

Hi @BradWilbert 

Would something like the attached work?  I don't think it makes it perfect but it at least gets the edge cut normal to the face.  I just did a unfold then projected the geometry from the other face and then did an extrude.  Let me know if this works for you.

Thanks,

Kyle Gilham
Customer Advocacy Manager
Message 3 of 18
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: kgilham

@kgilham wrote:

Would something like the attached work? 

No Attachment?

@BradWilbert 

I will show robust technique when I get a chance.