Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rigid group + slider joint mechanic

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1547 Views, 6 Replies

Rigid group + slider joint mechanic

Hello everybody,

I'm totally new to Fusion 360 (started earlier this week) and have been following few tutorials but my project is really basic/primitive (not really the kind of project Fusion 360 was designed for), so I started working on my own early on.
I need to reproduce an art installation I've made last year that was destroyed. I want to print it 3D but first I'd like to animate it directly through the software. The thing is I don't understand how to create a simple mechanism.
As you can see on my screen-capture, the mechanism is pretty straightforward : 2 axis (horizontal + vertical), 2 tubes (one going in the horizontal, on going through both axis), and a surface under these elements.
As you may have noticed, the 2 axis are linked to the surface, so I'd like to have a slide mechanic on each axis (I had no problem to figure out how to do this). The thing is that when I activate the animation, let's say on the horizontal, the tube on the right doesn't move. So I tried to create a rigid group between this tube and the horizontal axis, but still, the slider only affects the axis and not the tube.
What I need is to link the central tube with both axis, to link the right tube to the horizontal axis, then to link both axis to the surface with a slider movement. Is it possible? How can I do that?