Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

possible to use Fusion for guitar top modal frequency simulations ?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
rumpelstielz
1648 Views, 6 Replies

possible to use Fusion for guitar top modal frequency simulations ?

hey everyone, just been playing around in my spare time with one of the parts of Fusion i really don't know anything about: simulation ... and physics in general for that matter (my highschool physics teacher would keel over laughing if she knew i was even considering sth like this) ... the simulation feature it's one of those things that 'looks like it's related' but might be something else entirely.

as a musician and luthier i'm familiar with a topic of much mystery, lore and speculation: how exactly wood transmits sound in such a complex structural object as a stringed instrument and how exactly different wood species, design features, components and construction strategies relate to 'sound'. Whereas the basic theory of propagation of forces and sound waves in an acoustic guitar for example are generally accepted:

String vibrations between two anchor points [nut and bridge] are transmitted via the bridge to the sound board which moves air amplified by the corpus and thus genrates the 'sound' .. the guitars top acts like the speaker membrane and contrary to common belief the hole is not where the sound comes out it's more like the bass port of a subwoofer as a vent for air pressure to modulate frequency and volume response

there are so many variables that come into play and so many frequencies interact that no one really knows for sure what's going on and how different instrument designs end up propagating the sound waves.