Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is There a Better Way to Cut a V-Groove?

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
oo7_golden_1
220 Views, 2 Replies

Is There a Better Way to Cut a V-Groove?

Hello everyone,

I am still learning better ways to use fusion 360 and have recently hit a snag on one of my projects and I was hoping to reach out to see if there was a cleaner more efficient way to do something in fusion.

I am creating a simple box-like item with a top and a bottom. The edges of all of the sides contain either fillets or chamfers.

There are chamfers added to the sections of the cube where each piece touches.

For aesthetic purposes I am trying to add a V-Groove along the sides of the cube and along the top and sides of the top and bottom pieces to visually imitate the chamfers of the areas where each piece connects.

I was hoping to draw a sketch and then use that sketch to simply extrude/cut a -45% angled V-groove into the objects the same depth and width as the total depth and width of the chamfers when the pieces are connected to one another. In this case .8mm (.4mm + .4mm) wide and .4 deep.

The Extrude tool does not seem to work well with rounded surfaces.

I tried using the emboss feature for the first time but I couldn’t seem to get it to work right.