Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to copy and paste a sketch

93 REPLIES 93
SOLVED
Message 1 of 94
Anonymous
190962 Views, 93 Replies

How to copy and paste a sketch

Hey there, I am very new to Fusion 360 and still trying to find my way around. This one has really got me scratching my head. How do you copy a basic 2D sketch? I am selecting the shape, let's say a center point circle, using CTRL + C and then CTRL + V. Nothing happens. If I right click on the circle it gives me the option to redo paste, but it does not create a 2nd shape. 

How can I achieve this? In the more basic offering of 123D, when I hit copy and paste, even with a 2D sketch, it pops up the new shape and provides the move tool. 

93 REPLIES 93
Message 61 of 94
Anonymous
in reply to: Phil.E

Hi Phil,

Just copying in the same plane. I make copies for splitting bodies etc. I never really noticed this problem before .... I just usually tick the copy box in the copy/move pop-up ... but for whatever reason I now find I have to explicitly select edit sketch first.

Message 62 of 94
Phil.E
in reply to: Anonymous

I just found that if you are outside of sketch edit, and you start the Move command first, leaving the filter set to bodies, and pick a visible sketch object, the copy option is available. This seems wrong so I'll ask this is intended behavior.

Thanks,

Phil Eichmiller
Software Engineer
Quality Assurance
Autodesk, Inc.

Message 63 of 94
kulpio
in reply to: HughesTooling

Wow, I struggled with this for months, doing drawing y projecting numerous times when I could just copy from a drawing and paste into a new one.... I feel dumb and enlighten at  the same time lol.

Message 64 of 94
chrisplyler
in reply to: kulpio