Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do Fusion 360 experts build an assembly like this without using joints?

51 REPLIES 51
SOLVED
Message 1 of 52
mgianzero
5057 Views, 51 Replies

How do Fusion 360 experts build an assembly like this without using joints?

So I've gotten fairly good at some drawings using F360.  However, now I was thinking of designing and building my own 3D printer using Fusion.  I've seen a few completed models like this one (https://gallery.autodesk.com/fusion360/projects/97840/voron-1?searched=) on the Fusion 360 gallery.  But how to they position parts like the frame and all the parts without using joints? 

I'm fairly new to assembly using rigid joints, but I don't see that they did this in this example or others I've seen.  It would seem like a really tedious job to do if they did.  So how does one create such a parametric model and place all those parts exactly where they want them?

Marc G.

51 REPLIES 51
Message 2 of 52
etfrench
in reply to: mgianzero

mgianzero wrote: So how does one create such a parametric model and place all those parts exactly where they want them?

Marc G.

By using jointsSmiley Happy

ETFrench

EESignature

Message 3 of 52
TrippyLighting

You probably did not create a drawing but a model in Fusion 360. To assemble such a device you'd use joints. 

EESignature

Message 4 of 52
mgianzero
in reply to: TrippyLighting