Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with designing serpentine pulley to 3d print

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
gregory.odom
447 Views, 11 Replies

Help with designing serpentine pulley to 3d print

Hi.  I'm pretty new to Fusino 360 and I can't figure out how to make the grooves for where the belt goes on a serpentine pully.  Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

serpentine pulley.jpg

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
jeff_strater
in reply to: gregory.odom

there are lots of ways to do this, depending on where your design is currently.  You can use Revolve or Sweep to do one groove, and then Rectangular Pattern to make the copies.  Can you share your model here?

Jeff Strater
Engineering Director
Message 3 of 12
etfrench

Here's one way:

serpentinePulley.JPG

ETFrench

EESignature

Message 4 of 12
gregory.odom
in reply to: etfrench

This is kind of the direction I was thinking of going but I need the measurements to be exact and could not figure out how to do that with the line tool when making the "V" shapes for the grooves.

Message 5 of 12
etfrench

Do one of the following:

• Use the specification for the belt.
  • Cut a belt in two and use a scanner to get the cross section.
  • Trial and error.

ETFrench

EESignature

Message 6 of 12

@gregory.odom wrote:

I need the measurements to be exact and could not figure out how to do that with the line tool when making the "V" shapes for the grooves.

This is done with driving Dimensions.

Can you File>Export your *.f3d file of your attempt to your local drive and then Attach it here to a Reply?

Also a reference link to the belt or pulley dimensions would help.

Message 7 of 12