Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having difficulty thickening a complex surface to create a solid object

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
dknellN7U3L
389 Views, 8 Replies

Having difficulty thickening a complex surface to create a solid object

Hello everyone,

First and foremost, I would like to preface that I am quite new to fusion 360 and 3D design altogether so I am sure that the way I went about creating this piece could have been done much better by someone with more experience and knowledge. That being said, after some struggling, I finally arrived at my target shape, dimensions and aesthetics.

My challenge is that I am unable to thicken the body to create a solid. I've read a few answers, but due to my inexperience, I am uncertain as how to proceed rectifying the issues. Please see the attached screenshots and file for review.

I appreciate all insight and advice that you are able to offer!

thank you,

Devin

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
davebYYPCU
in reply to: dknellN7U3L

To the inside / outside?

To what thickness?

Will check file later.

Message 3 of 9
dknellN7U3L
in reply to: davebYYPCU

I'd like the spoon bowl to thicken to the outside 1.5mm. The handle will need to be thicker, but I'll cross that bridge later. Thanks for taking a look.

Message 4 of 9
Warmingup1953

You've got your geometry pretty close but some errors will defy thickening. Perhaps utilise what you have as a reference and swap to Solid Modelling?Spoon.jpgspoon2.jpg

Message 5 of 9
dknellN7U3L

Thank you! I realize this is a broad subject that can't be easily answered on a forum. Could you please suggest the correct path to begin solid modeling this?

Message 6 of 9