Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot get my sketch to become fully defined (sketch made with splines)

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
Justine_makes_things
599 Views, 16 Replies

Cannot get my sketch to become fully defined (sketch made with splines)

Hi,

First of all forgive my horribel sketch. I come from a Blender background and I'm still learning how to use Fusion and the parametric modeling workflow.

I'm trying to make a profile shape based off a reference image. I calibrated the refrence image so I know my proportions are correct. Now I can't get my sketch to become fully defined so I can cut out a square in the middle. 

I read on these forums that the spline handle dimensions need to be defined, which I did. It looks horrible and ugly, I know.

I defined the angle between the normal straight lines and the spline lines.

I constrained the length of the object with a construction line which dimension I also defined.

I don't know what else I can constrain/define to get my sketch to become fully defined.

Thanks in advance for any help! And sorry if this question is quite beginner level. I'm trying to get the hang of it.

IMG_7274.JPEG

Justine_Ruys_0-1714927940149.png

Labels (6)
16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17

Hi,

1. splines (especially fit-point splines) are difficult to determine completely and do not have to be.
It is only important to use as few control points as possible.
2. for such constructions, you should only sketch one half, extrude it and then mirror the body.
3. the horizontal alignment of the lower construction line is important.

Please share the file
File > export > save as f3d locally > attach to post

günther

Message 3 of 17

Hi Gunter,