Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Turning Tips Not to Scale in Tool Library

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
mattdlr89
629 Views, 8 Replies

Turning Tips Not to Scale in Tool Library

I'm new to the turning side of Fusion so I am just getting my head around how to define all the tools.

I was getting a bit confused as I couldn't get them to look like they do in real life and I think this is because the tips are not drawn to scale in relation to the holder.

I scaled the window until the squares where the right size and the tip as drawn on the screen is way off! 

Screenshot below shows that the tip pokes out the back of the holder it doesn't look anything like this on the lathe - so I was getting confused that I may have not defined it correctly. I then held up the tip to the screen and you can see the difference in the picture below. 

mattdlr89_0-1614159090751.png

IMG_2705.jpeg

@christopher.cooperVHK2N tagging you as you seem to be the tool library contact! 

Furthermore the lathe side of tooling seems a bit basic, are there plans to be able to select different tip edges. For example any grooving or part off tool can be easily defined from either side of the tip. Fusion doesn't allow me to select which side - typically all our programs are currently set up the edge that Fusion can't cope with. Screenshot below I'd like to select the corner where the red arrow is

mattdlr89_1-1614159715212.png

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

@mattdlr89 Thanks for the feedback. We are aware of a bug related to the turning insert size and we will be looking to get to it very soon - Ref CAM-25330.