Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make Z axis code always in negative direction.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2465 Views, 7 Replies

How to make Z axis code always in negative direction.

First post here.  I am very new to 3D modeling, but not new to Autocad and am trying to teach myself Fusion 360.  It has been a very tough road so far. 

I am using Linux CNC software on a converted Bridgeport vertical mill.  The Z-axis within EMC is configured that Z- zero is with the spindle fully retracted.  So, any "Z" move will be in the negative direction.  My problem is that whenever I generate G-code for my parts, there are a large number of Positive "Z" axis moves injected into the code, which makes my machine error out with "Z move will exceed positive limit" for that axis. 

Is there some way to "offset" the Z so that the post processor knows that the top surface of the part will always start at Z=-.500?  Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Laurens-3DTechDraw
in reply to: Anonymous

You know you can set a work offset in the machine?

You don't have to work from machine zero.

Laurens Wijnschenk
3DTechDraw

AutoDesk CAM user & Post editor.
René for Legend.

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Laurens-3DTechDraw

What work offset, specifically are you recommending?  After I start the machine and home all axes, I run the Z down to Z -1.00 and then "touch off" to make that position zero.  When I try to run the program, I still get "Linear move on line 14 would exceed joint 2's positive limit."  I am a hobbiest transitioning from an environment where most of my prior G-code programs were hand written, so this is a pretty big jump for me.  My G-code is attached, below.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous