Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to Set Position of Driven Join

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
adambwinnett
397 Views, 12 Replies

Unable to Set Position of Driven Join

Let me preface this by saying that I'm still learning Fusion and CAD in general, so I know I've probably gone and fallen into some trap or boxed myself into a corner of my own making. That being said, if anyone can either tell me how to fix this, or what I should do better to avoid this, that would be great!

So, as part of my learning I've been playing with subassemblies and joints. I went and created a nut component and a bolt component in separate designs. I've then added these to another new design as a subassembly to which I have added a cylinder joint which I have motion linked (I was experimenting with getting the joint to respect the threads of the two components). So far so good! I've then added this nut/bolt subassembly to a plate component as shown below, and have been trying to set the position of the nuts by using the Drive Joint dialog. However, no matter what I try, I cannot get the nuts to remain in place.

adambwinnett_1-1660684008161.png

If I edit the existing Capture Position feature which was used to move all the imported subassemblies into place, and then drive the nuts to where I want them, after clicking "Final Position", I now have "Capture Position" and "Revert Position" on the tool bar, which tells me that editing the original Position feature didn't work. If I click the new Capture Position button, I get a new feature on the timeline but the nut has jumped back to the original position.

adambwinnett_2-1660684280256.pngadambwinnett_3-1660684325406.png

So, what have I done/am I doing wrong?

Labels (2)