Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie cannot "combine" two parts

47 REPLIES 47
Message 1 of 48
Quickmarch
4020 Views, 47 Replies

Newbie cannot "combine" two parts

I'm new to Fusion 360, but not CAD design in general. It has been many years since I was
active in the design field - AutoCad 2002 was the last version of AutoDesk software that I
used. So, please bear with me.

I've researched the "suggestions" and cannot find a similar problem.

I've watched numerous videos on the subject so I understand the concept of Bodies/Components,
etc. Pretty intuitive for someone who has been designing mechanical assemblies for the last 35
years.

I'm stuck on the "Combine" command.

I am trying to make a new component out of a combination of the two parts by joining the Base
Plug to The Pocket. I have very carefully made the Plug an exact fit inside the Pocket (within
4 decimal places).

All of the following were attempted in the "Model" Module.

I started a new Project and created and saved two simple parts. I called them BASE PLUG, AND
POCKET. For each part, I started with a sketch on the X-Y axis at 0,0,0 and extruded in the Z
Axis. The parts show up in the Data Panel with appropriate names.

Other operations performed were to add 1 degree of "Draft" to the inside of the Pocket and the
same (opposite) to the outside of the plug.

I opened the part "Pocket" then imported the "Base Plug" by right-clicking on the "Base Plug"
in the Data Panel and choosing "Insert into Current Design" from the drop-down menu. The base
Plug and the Pocket share the same origin (0,0,0) so there were no position changes. Both
parts are the latest iteration.