Announcements

Welcome to Forma for Construction Ideas! View the Forma for Construction Product Roadmap here. Top-voted ideas may be considered for future development. Learn more about the feedback process here.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Design Collaboration and Folder Permissions

Design Collaboration and Folder Permissions

There are several entries, but none quite explain it how I'd like.

When you set up your project template, your folders have permissions. From there, you make your Design Collaboration Teams. Only, the permission levels in Design Collab are 4 levels with Folders having 6. The team creation process will automatically override your permissions in the Folder to a higher level than you want, which means you have to go back to EVERY folder and reduce permissions again.

You can think of it like if I give someone View to my folder to View and therefore link to my model, when the team gets created, it will up their permission to View + Download because Design Collab only has the filled in bubble for View (which is 'level 2') instead of the unfilled bubble (which is 'level 1'). This is an admin nightmare and an access control risk.

Similar to what was said here, but this is only part of it:
Design Collaboration/Folder Permissions - Autodesk Community 

6 Comments
ramiyiw824
Observer

1

I want to add that with Upload folder permissions, users get bumped to Edit - which means they can rename models, interfering with the Model Validation Tool and a few other key workflows for us. 

Tech support says this is by design - I really need the product team to understand the 'works as designed' flaws here. 

buildintel
Advocate

@Andrell_Laniewicz3DANQ 
Sounds like you've found a permissions risk there. If the wrong users get the wrong permissions can be chaotic.
I cant see anything on the ACC roadmap.
Have you considered an integration that downgrades users automatically whenever they get upgraded?

Best
BI

@buildintel we have an internal team looking into it, but Autodesk's response was 'this is working as designed' 😞

sara.hendler
Advocate

Agree.  We have had similar experiences.

 

Description

Requesting the ability to set Manage permissions to certain roles (BIM Manager, for example) on the Shared Model folder when using Design Collaboration. The addition of teams should not edit/change the permissions of this role since Manage permission is required to save a view to a Coordination Space in Model Coordination.

 

Business Case

Overriding roles at the “root” Shared Model folder prevents users from saving views to a coordination space. People cannot do their job with this setup.

 

We had originally reported this as a bug about a year ago, but was told to submit a feature request through our CSM, then Autodesk changed the way requests are handled to this Idea Board.  Please refer to Case No: 24101351.

It looks like there is a checkbox recently added about overriding the folder permissions that should solve this. Let me know if any of you still experience this!

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea