Announcements

Welcome to Forma for Construction Ideas! View the Forma for Construction Product Roadmap here. Top-voted ideas may be considered for future development. Learn more about the feedback process here.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delete version

Delete version

Need an option for a version to be deleted, not only superseded by another version

4 Comments
Renata_Rogic01
Advocate

Please add option to supersede versions so version and revision number are matching. Sometimes version is uploaded by mistake and this messes up the numbers or version and revision. 

fridaLN42W
Enthusiast

This is highly requested in our project! Its very problematic if a file have many versions and one is uploaded by mistake and cant be viewable in the version history - the only solution for this right now would be to download all versions of the file, delete the file and then upload all versions again without the wrong version. But using this method the uploading dates would be lost.

jcroweDAZ6S
Enthusiast

I don't understand how this is not an option and why it's not requested more. Autodesk, please implement this for the reasons stated above. This is vital to keep information correct. 

mkindig
Participant

A good revision history should reflect actual project decisions, so not being able to correct a mistaken upload threatens trust in the system - which undermines trust from the field.

 

For future readers getting to know document control concepts, typically Version Numbers represent activity in the software, whereas Revision Numbers represent an engineering or business change. So when we see a contractual file with "Version 1 | Rev 0" I know the design team hasn't had to make any changes to that file since it's been received. For a clean project record, future design changes become sequential Revisions to that version e.g., "Version 1 | Rev 1", "Version 1 | Rev 2", and so on. 

 

Compare that with "Version 2 | Rev 1". We conclude that a new document with the same name was uploaded, but now there's ambiguity. Now there's questions, now there's increased mental load and side-quests to verify the integrity of the project data...

 

Superseding is appropriate when a document is legitimately revised. Deleting a version is appropriate when a file was uploaded in error and never represented an approved project record. Without the ability to remove erroneous uploads, version history can become misaligned with revision history, creating confusion for project teams and reducing the accuracy of the document record. Forma should have a way to delete versions for administrative mistakes in a way that preserves the project record.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea