Did you mean: 

Simple dynamic block creation in AutoCAD 2011

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
929 Views, 4 Replies

Simple dynamic block creation in AutoCAD 2011

Hi,

I am new to dynamic blocks and I would like some advice. I have searched the web for a tutorial for this and I cannot find anything similar to what I want to achieve. I want to make a dynamic block of just text. I want to be able to insert a block with a drop down pick list of preset texts and select the text I want it to display.

The link below points to a file containing the various options of text I want to be able to pick from the list. I want to maintain the insertion point common to each text variation shown with a crosshair and the justification of the text as right and the height as 10. I would like to know how to add/remove variations to the block too.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/12331630/ACAD/PROCESS%20TAG.dwg

Does anyone know how to do this, I am not familiar at all with the controls in the block editor.

Feel pretty dumb, however I know if you don;t ask questions you don't learn!

Thanks

Tags (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

UPDATE:

I have managed to find a work through solution to this problem now on another forum.

Thanks, G.

Message 3 of 5
Charles_Shade

Would love to see what you got.

Message 4 of 5
Anonymous

I am new to dynamic block creation so if my terms/explaination is off, forgive me...

With some help I have created a block with a visibility state for each pick selection I wanted to create. Very simple and has limitations I have been told. Apparently the same can be done with a lookup table but it requires a regen after each selection. I like the visibility state option, nice and simple for a simple task.

I have integrated the block into my standard drawing borders to help the manufacturing team understand the main processes involved with the part that is detailed.