Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plot Styles

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
ESchomberg
2573 Views, 16 Replies

Plot Styles

Dear sirs, all of a sudden I am forced to get an education on plotting. Hope this rabbit hole is not too painful. Please bear with me and teach me.

I am new to the idea of colors, layers, and plot styles controlling the appearance of your drawing. I will try to carefully word all of this in the hope of getting a full understanding.

I have a client that is extremely picky about every aspect of his drawings, and is able to pick things out that I would not have even noticed. He uses colors to control thickness and darkness of certain objects. I always thought this was controlled in lineweights through layers, and the color did not matter.

He gave me a list of pen styles:

SLOT NUMBER               COLOR LAYER              LINE WIDTH

# 1                                  RED                            .008

#11                                PINK                            .010

#7                                  White                          .012

#6                                  MAG.                          .014

#3                                  GREEN                         .016

#5                                  BLUE                           .018

#9                                  GRAY                          .020

#4                                  Cyan                           .022

#2                                  Yellow                         .024