Community
Bifrost Forum
Welcome to the Bifrost Forum. This is the place for artists using Bifrost to ask and answer questions, browse popular topics, and share knowledge about creating effects procedurally using Bifrost. You can also visit the Bifrost Community on AREA to download an array of ready-to-use graphs, read Bifrost news and updates, and find the latest tutorials.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Raindrops

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
matthewGNQTJ
1087 Views, 6 Replies

Raindrops

I'm running Maya 2019.  I'm new to bitfrost. I can't get bitfrost to simulate rain.  I've tried a variety of physical models (propellers, sieves) on liquid to get droplets to form, but bitfrost seems to want to keep the liquid in sheets or strands and not break up into bits of water.  What I want is to get the effect of rain falling on animated objects partially submerged in water.  I want the rain to splatter off the objects as well as to disturb the water (ripples).  I haven't seen a tutorial on this.  I realize scale is critical to getting the correct effect.  I tried a variety of  gravity magnitudes (9.8 to 980) physical attribute densities ( 1 to 1000), droplet thresholds, and surface bandwidths. Any suggestions as to how to proceed would be welcome.

Thanks,

Matt

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: matthewGNQTJ

I also have the same problem, does anyone have any ideas on the subject?

Luck

Message 3 of 7

Hi,

This will be very expensive (in terms of memory requirements and computation time) to do as a single simulation. I suggest that you break it up into separate effects and blend them together in post production. This approach will also give you better control over the different parts.

• For medium-distance regions where you can't see the individual drops, you can use a BOSS mesh for the water surface and an animated texture for the rain. See Add and edit BOSS influences.