AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Link an Entity to chosen Excel column data

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
brian_shick
377 Views, 4 Replies

Link an Entity to chosen Excel column data

Hi, I have no experience linking AutoCAD to Excel files and wanted to know if it is possible to link a PLINE to Excel data, specifically to a row and just a few columns from that excel file.  The request I have is to be able to click on a PLINE segment and popup a box with only the relevant linked data from an excel file. I have attached a sample DWG and snap shots from the Excel file they are wanting to see.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly apricated.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
ChicagoLooper
in reply to: brian_shick

Linking only ‘certain columns’ is not an efficient way to link data from a spreadsheet. Keep an open-mind, abandon all preconceived ideas of what you think you’re accomplishing and think about it. Really think about. You’ll no longer be ‘linking’ a Table. Instead, you’ll be linking individual cells and that’s equivalent to linking individual pieces of data. 

If you want to link data like that, you be more successful (and more AutoCAD professionalistic-ish) if you create an object data table in Map3D. Then attach that table to your object(s) and enter your data into each object’s table. It’ll be as simple as filling in the blanks. 

Once the data is in each object’s data table (so far it looks like you only have one object so you’ll only have one table) you’re good to go. The attached data is not only viewed

in the Properties Palette (no special software or skills needed to ‘view’ the data) but it’s editable too. Just click the data in the Prop Palette and over write the current data or fill in data that you forgot to enter in the first place.